Laser cutting decorations

Last summer I learned how to create and edit vector based graphics to produce laser cut decorations.

In Blackburn, Lancashire, where I live the council have set up a ‘Making Rooms’ fab lab. In this space you can access not only laser cutting machines, but 3D printers and vinyl cutting machines…( there is other magical equipment but I either didn’t understand it or was not interested!)

I have learnt a lot from the first session going badly! Always test cut your materials! but if you get the opportunity to use these amazing machines go for it!

The photos show a shot of me using the software ‘inkscape’ which is open source and free to use and download from inkscape.org, then a couple of shots of my snowflakes being cut and the finished items…..well apart from the hanging ribbon!

These hanging decorations along with other new designs have been listed in my etsy shop!

